Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022


The Commission presents this proposal for consideration by members of the public. The key elements are summarized as follows:

  • Labrador will remain a separate district.
  • For all districts on the island, the proposed boundary adjustments will bring them well within the limits set by the Act and very close to the reference quota for the island.
  • The names of several ridings have been changed using the rationales noted above.

The districts as proposed are summarized in the table below.

Proposed Federal Electoral District 2021 Population Deviation from Provincial Electoral Quota Deviation from Reference Quota
Cape Spear81,17311.29%0.65%
Long Range Mountains81,79512.15%1.42%
Notre Dame—Bay d'Espoir81,56711.83%1.14%
St. John's East80,87410.88%0.28%
Terra Nova—The Peninsulas78,7417.96%−2.37%

The variances from the provincial quota are within the range permitted under section 15 of the Act.

In the appendices, three things can be found: a schedule of public hearings, a detailed description of each electoral district and four maps.

Dated at St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, this 23rd day of June, 2022.

The Honourable Justice Alphonsus E. Faour, Chair

Dr. Amanda Bittner, Member

Ms. Julie Eveleigh, Member

Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador