Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

La Prairie—Atateken Proposal

  • (Population: 114,968)
  • (Map 3)

Reason: The Mohawk word Atateken refers to the concept of brotherhood between human beings or a group of people or nations sharing the same values. It is added to the current name of the district to reflect the presence of the Mohawk First Nation on its territory (the community of Kahnawake) and elsewhere in Quebec (the communities of Akwesasne and Kanesatake). Finally, this addition echoes the 2019 change in the name of Amherst Street in Montréal to Atateken.

Consists of:

that part of the Regional County Municipality of Roussillon comprising: the cities of Candiac, Delson, La Prairie, Sainte-Catherine, Saint-Philippe and Saint-Constant; the Municipality of Saint-Mathieu; including Kahnawake Indian Reserve No. 14.