Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

Manicouagan—Kawawachikamach—Uapishka Proposal

  • (Population: 88,525)
  • (Map 1)

Reason: The Kawawachikamach and Uapishka elements are added to the name of this electoral district to reflect the presence on its territory, and elsewhere in Quebec, of the Innu (Montagnais) and Naskapi First Nations. Kawawachikamach is the name of the only Naskapi village in Quebec. In 1978, the Naskapi and the governments of Quebec and Canada signed the Northeastern Quebec Agreement. Uapishka is the word that the Innu use to designate the Groulx Mountains. The district is also the site of the World Biosphere Reserve, recognized by UNESCO since 2007 under the name Manicouagan—Uapishka. The Uapishka Station is an ecotourism enterprise and scientific research station co-founded by the Pessamit Innu Council and the Manicouagan—Uapishka World Biosphere Reserve. The Innu live in nine villages in Quebec, seven on the North Shore and two in the Saguenay—Lac Saint-Jean region.

Consists of:

  1. the Regional County Municipality of Caniapiscau, including: the Indian reserves of Lac-John and Matimekosh No. 3; the reserved land of Kawawachikamach;
  2. the Regional County Municipality of Golfe-du-Saint-Laurent, including: La Romaine Indian Reserve No. 2; Pakuashipi Indian Settlement;
  3. the Regional County Municipality of La Haute-Côte-Nord, including the Innue Essipit Indian Reserve;
  4. the Regional County Municipality of Manicouagan, including the Betsiamites Indian Reserve (Pessamit);
  5. the Regional County Municipality of Minganie, including the Indian reserves of Mingan and Nutashquan;
  6. the Regional County Municipality of Sept-Rivières, including Malioténam Indian Reserves No. 27A and Uashat No. 27.