Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

Montmagny—Témiscouata—Kataskomiq Proposal

Reason: The elimination of the electoral district of Avignon—La Mitis—Matane—Matapédia has resulted in significant changes to the other electoral districts of the region, including this one. These changes justify revising the name of this electoral district by simplifying it. The presence of the name Témiscouata recognizes the movement of the RCM of the same name into the district's territory. The addition of the name of the Kataskomiq Indian Reserve (formerly Whitworth 21) highlights the presence of the Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) Wahsipekuk First Nation on this territory.

Consists of:

the regional county municipalities of Kamouraska, L'Islet, Montmagny, Rivière-du-Loup and Témiscouata, including the Kataskomiq Indian Reserve.