Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

Rimouski—Matane Proposal

  • (Population: 107,562)
  • (Map 5)

Reason: The elimination of the electoral district of Avignon—La Mitis—Matane—Matapédia has resulted in significant changes to the other electoral districts of the region, including this one, which was adjacent to it. These changes justify revising the current name of the district by simplifying it to retain only the names of the two urban centres of Rimouski and Matane.

Consists of:

  1. the regional county municipalities of Les Basques, La Mitis and Rimouski-Neigette;
  2. those parts of the regional county municipalities of La Matanie, La Matapédia and Avignon comprising: the City of Matane; the municipalities of Albertville, Baie-des-Sables, L'Ascension-de-Patapédia, Sainte-Paule, Saint-Ulric, Sayabec and Val-Brillant; the parish municipalities of Saint-Cléophas, Saint-Damase, Saint-Léandre, Saint-Léon-le-Grand, Saint-Moïse, Saint-Zénon-du-Lac-Humqui and Sainte-Irène; the Village of Saint-Noël; the unorganized territories of Lac-Alfred, Lac- Matapédia, Rivière-Patapédia-Est, Rivière-Vaseuse and Ruisseau-Ferguson.