Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022


The Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of Alberta complied with its initial mandate under the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. E-3 by filing its initial Report on January 31, 2023. The Report was tabled in the House of Commons and referred to the Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs (PROC) on February 2, 2022. The Standing Committee received five objections to the Report and chose to forward all those objections to the Commission for its consideration in May 2023.

The initial version of the Commission's Report is included in this final Report in its entirety. The new section entitled "Addendum (Disposition of Objections)" provides the Commission's consideration and disposition of the objections endorsed by PROC. As a result, the following changes have been made:

  1. The Commission has altered the boundaries of the electoral district of Peace River— Westlock.
  2. The boundaries of the electoral district of Grande Prairie reverted to those contained in the Commission's Proposal of June 10, 2022.
  3. The electoral district of Jasper—Banff—Canmore has been renamed Yellowhead.

These adjustments are reflected in the accompanying section entitled "Appendix – Modified Maps and Boundary Descriptions"

In all other respects, the Commission's Report of January 31, 2023 is unaltered.