Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

Meet your commission – New Brunswick

Meet the Commission for New Brunswick. Every commission has three members: a judge appointed by the Chief Justice of the province and two other members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Commons. Their role is to review the federal electoral boundaries for their province.

The Honourable Justice Lucie A. LaVigne (Chair)

Lucie A. LaVigne

Madam Justice LaVigne was born in Bathurst, New Brunswick. She received a Bachelor in Business Administration from l'Université de Moncton in 1977 and graduated from the University of New Brunswick Law School in 1980. She practised law in the City of Edmundston from 1980 to 2001. She was appointed Queen's Counsel in December 1996. On June 6, 2001, she was appointed to the New Brunswick Court of Queen's Bench, trial division, in Edmundston. On June 6, 2018, she was appointed to the Court of Appeal of New Brunswick.

Before her appointment to the Bench, she was actively involved in her community and is a past president of several associations including the Edmundston Chamber of Commerce, l'Escale Madavic Inc. (a shelter for battered women), the Edmundston Regional Hospital Foundation, Operation Red Nose-Madawaska and the Madawaska Law Society. At the time of her appointment to the Bench, she was vice-president of the Board of Governors of l'Université de Moncton. She has also been very active in home/school associations and with her parish.

Since her appointment to the Bench, she has frequently participated as chair, member of the organizing committee, presenter, panellist or facilitator at seminars and conferences for the continuing legal education of judges, lawyers and law students.

She has been very involved with the International Association of Women Judges (IAWJ). In 2008 she was elected president of the Canadian Chapter of the IAWJ. From 2010 to 2014, she was International Director representing North America on the Board of the IAWJ.

Married to Paul Albert since 1982, they have two adult children, Dr. Marie-Claude LaVigne-Albert (Antoine Tremblay-Bezeau) and Jolène LaVigne-Albert, Esq. (Pierre Haye).

Condé Grondin

Condé Grondin

Condé Grondin is a retired professor of political science from the University of New Brunswick, Fredericton. Born in St. Jacques, New Brunswick, Dr Grondin received his bachelor and master of education, and his doctor of philosophy in political science from the University of Alberta. His teaching, consulting and research interests focused on Canadian government and New Brunswick provincial politics and political behaviour. He was often sought out by the media for his opinion on the political landscape of New Brunswick. He was a member of the 2012 New Brunswick Electoral Boundaries and Representation Commission.

The Honourable Thomas Riordon

Thomas Riordon

The Honourable Thomas Riordon was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick in 1966, became a Queen's Counsel in 1982, and practised law in Bathurst until his appointment as a judge on the Court of Queen's Bench New Brunswick (Miramichi) in 1988. He retired in 2016 and now resides in Miramichi. Fluently bilingual, he has previously served as a member of the Judicial Council of New Brunswick and of the Pension Plan Appeals Board from 2007 to 2013. He was also a chair and member of the Mental Health Services Advisory Committee of New Brunswick, a member of the Expropriations Advisory Board of New Brunswick, a chair of the New Brunswick Planning Appeal Board, and a director of the Bathurst School of Nursing. Justice Riordon served as a member of the previous Federal Electoral Boundary Commission for the Province of New Brunswick in 2012-2013.