Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

Comment 27 comments and feedback

Back to all comments and feedback from the public

Peter Valentine

I am writing in response to Redistribution 2022 with proposals for the riding of Dufferin-Caledon.

I propose that the boundaries of Dufferin-Caledon be redrawn to encompass, in addition to the current boundaries of all of Dufferin County, and the Town of Caledon, (total population of 116 341), to add the following townships.

  • Township of Southgate, population of 7190, currently a part of Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound County
  • Township of Erin, population of 11 439, currently a part of Wellington County
  • Township of Wellington North (Town of Mount Forest, Village of Arthur), population of 11 914, currently a part of Wellington County

Redrawing the boundaries to encompass these three townships would add 30 543 residents to increase the population of the riding to 146 884. Note that Southgate (back then as Dundalk), Erin, and Wellington North were once within these boundaries between 1997 and 2004 when the riding was known as Dufferin-Peel-Wellington-Grey.

Note that there is precedent of a riding having such a high population of over 130 000 within its riding. Namely King-Vaughn (population of 147 695), Etobicoke-Lakeshore (pop. 141 751), Whitby (pop. 138 501), Spadina-Fort York (pop. 136 213), Markham-Stouffville (pop. 135 944) and Oshawa (pop. 131 067).

And between a population between 120 000 and 130 000, there is precedent through Niagara Falls (pop. 128 357), Markham-Unionville (pop. 128 308), Windsor West (pop. 122 988), Orleans (128 281), Ottawa South (pop. 121 058), and (Oakville (pop. 120 923).

The riding can retain the name of Dufferin-Caledon if only the Township of Southgate and/or the Township of Erin are added. But if the Township of Wellington North is added, then I recommend that the riding can be renamed Dufferin-Caledon-Wellington North to reflect the size of its population.

Thank you for your time.


Peter Valentine

Top of page