Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

Comment 81 comments and feedback

Back to all comments and feedback from the public

George Bridge

Electoral Boundaries Commission of Ontario

October 1, 2022

Dear Commissioners:

As Mayor and Designate Mayor of the Town of Minto we are writing to you to express our support for the proposed new electoral district boundaries for Perth—Wellington.

We are pleased to see, under the proposed boundaries, the Town of Minto will remain in the same riding as our Wellington County neighbours to the East: The Township of Mapleton and the Township of Wellington North.

While we recognize the formula you must follow makes it impossible to keep every county in Ontario contained within the same riding, we believe excessive separation should be avoided.

Keeping Wellington County, with a population of over 240,000 residents, within only two ridings has worked well for our county over the past 18 years. We believe further splitting of Wellington County should be avoided and we are relieved to see it has been in your proposal.

We are also pleased to see the addition of our neighbour to the West, the Township of Howick will also join the riding of Perth—Wellington.

The town of Minto and the Township of Howick are closely interwoven with many residents working, living and maintaining close personal relationships with friends and families.

One community in Minto, the community of Clifford, is right on the border of our municipality. With the growth and development in the west side of Clifford, the community is now stretching into Howick Township. Uniting both parts into one federal riding is a logical decision.

With a combined 28 years of experience in municipal government, we believe the new boundaries as proposed are best for the people of Minto and the residents of Wellington County.


George Bridge

Mayor of the Town of Minto

Former Warden of Wellington County

Dave Turton

Designate Mayor of the Town of Minto

Deputy Mayor of the Town of Minto

Top of page