Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022


The Commission presents this report for consideration in the House of Commons. The key elements are summarized as follows:

  • Labrador will remain a separate district.
  • For all districts on the island, the proposed boundary adjustments will bring them well within the limits set by the Act and very close to the reference quota for the island.
  • The names of three ridings have been changed using the rationales noted above.

The districts are summarized in the table below.

    Federal Electoral District 2022 Population 2021 Deviation from Provincial Quota Deviation from Reference Quota
    Cape Spear85,03816.59%5.44%
    Central Newfoundland74,1221.63%−8.09%
    Long Range Mountains81,79512.15%1.42%
    St. John's East85,03816.59%5.44%
    Terra Nova—The Peninsulas76,1214.37%−5.61%
    Total Population510,550  

The variances from the provincial quota are within the range permitted under section 15 of the Act.

Appendix A provides a schedule of public hearings and a list of the presentations made to the Commission, while Appendix B presents maps, boundaries and detailed descriptions of the electoral districts.

Dated at St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, this 5th day of December, 2022.

The Honourable Justice Alphonsus E. Faour, Chair

Dr. Amanda Bittner, Member

Ms. Julie Eveleigh, Member

Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador