Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Alberta Begins the Process of Readjusting Boundaries

Calgary, Wednesday, February 9, 2022

The Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Alberta begins its review of the province's federal electoral districts following the 2021 decennial census. The Commission is composed of three members: the Honourable Justice Bruce McDonald, Chair, and two other members, Donald Barry and Donna Wilson.

The Alberta Commission will use the 2021 Census population counts, made available by the Chief Statistician of Canada on February 9, 2022, to revise the boundaries of the province's 37 federal electoral districts. This number includes the three new electoral districts that have been added to Alberta. The Commission will draft its redistribution proposal, expected in a few months, to reflect growth and shifts in the population—balanced by consideration of communities of interest—since the last decennial census in 2011.

The proposal will then undergo a broad public consultation process during which the Commission plans to travel across Alberta to hear from those who wish to express their views.

To involve the public as soon as possible in the process of readjusting the electoral map, the Commission invites anyone who wants to submit comments and suggestions for it to consider in preparing its proposal to do so by mail or email no later than June 30, 2022.

By mail

Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Alberta,
PO Box 45062,
Calgary, AB, T2G 4X3

By email

AB@redecoupage-federal-redistribution.ca

The Commission thanks everyone in advance for their interest in its work. To learn more about the current redistribution process, visit redecoupage-redistribution-2022.ca.

Information

Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Alberta.

Media enquiries

Media@redecoupage-federal-redistribution.ca

Redécoupage des circonscriptions fédérales de 2022

La Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales fédérales pour l'Alberta commence le processus de révision des limites

Calgary, le mercredi 9 février 2022

La Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales fédérales pour l'Alberta commence la révision des limites des circonscriptions fédérales de la province, à la suite du recensement décennal de 2021. La Commission se compose d'un président, l'honorable juge Bruce McDonald, et de deux autres commissaires, Donald Barry et Donna Wilson.

La Commission utilisera les chiffres de la population issus du recensement de 2021, publiés par le statisticien en chef du Canada le 9 février 2022, pour réviser les limites des 37 circonscriptions fédérales de la province. Ce nombre comprend les trois nouvelles circonscriptions attribuées à l'Alberta. La Commission présentera un projet de redécoupage, attendu dans quelques mois, pour refléter la croissance et les mouvements de la population depuis le recensement décennal de 2011, tout en tenant compte des communautés d'intérêts.

La proposition fera ensuite l'objet d'une vaste consultation publique pendant laquelle la Commission prévoit parcourir l'Alberta pour entendre ceux et celles qui souhaitent exprimer leur avis.

Afin d'engager le public le plus tôt possible dans le processus de redécoupage de la carte électorale et d'orienter la préparation de sa proposition, la Commission invite toute personne à soumettre des commentaires et des suggestions par la poste ou par courriel, au plus tard le 30 juin 2022.

Par la poste

Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales fédérales pour l'Alberta
Case postale 45062
Calgary (Alberta) T2G 4X3

Par courriel

AB@redecoupage-federal-redistribution.ca

La Commission remercie d'avance tous ceux et celles qui s'intéressent à ses travaux. Pour en savoir plus sur le processus de redécoupage en cours, visitez redecoupage-redistribution-2022.ca.

Renseignements

Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales fédérales pour l'Alberta

Demandes de renseignements des médias

Media@redecoupage-federal-redistribution.ca