Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

Frequently asked questions

Basics

Timeline

Seat allocation

Process

Getting involved

 

What is a federal electoral district?

A federal electoral district (also called "riding" or "constituency") is a geographical area represented by a Member of Parliament (MP). During an election, electors vote for an MP to represent the residents of their electoral district in the House of Commons. Each electoral district therefore corresponds to a seat in the House of Commons.

See the list of current federal electoral districts.

What is the redistribution of federal electoral districts?

The redistribution of federal electoral districts is a process by which:

  1. The number of electoral districts (and therefore House of Commons seats) given to each province is recalculated according to new population estimates, using the representation formula found in section 51 of the Constitution Act, 1867
  2. The district boundaries are redrawn to account for a change in the number of electoral districts given to each province, or simply to reflect changes and movements in the population of that province.

The rules for carrying out the redistribution process are set out in the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act.

Why are Canada's federal electoral districts changing?

It is a legal requirement. The Constitution Act, 1867 and the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act require that the number of seats in the House of Commons and the boundaries of federal electoral districts be reviewed after each decennial (10-year) census. This mechanism allows for changes and movements in Canada's population to be reflected in House of Commons representation.

How will changes to Canada's federal electoral districts affect me?

Your electoral district will likely change in some way. For example:

In the previous two federal redistribution processes, about 90 percent of federal electoral districts changed in some way.

When will the redistribution of federal electoral districts start?

The next federal redistribution process is expected to begin in September 2021, when Statistics Canada publishes its population estimates for Canada and the provinces as at July 1, 2021. At that time, the Chief Electoral Officer will calculate the number of House of Commons seats to be allocated to each province.

The main component of the federal redistribution process is expected to start in February 2022, when Statistics Canada releases population numbers from the 2021 Census.

The population numbers will be given to independent commissions responsible for readjusting the federal boundaries. With those numbers in hand, the commissions can get to work and draft a new electoral map for their province.

Consult the redistribution timeline for more information.

Will the new federal electoral boundaries be in force during the next general election?

The redistribution process is expected to take several months. The new boundaries can only be put in place at a general election called at least seven months after the new electoral districts have been set. This time allows for Elections Canada, political parties, candidates and sitting MPs to prepare for the next general election (e.g. hire or reappoint returning officers, adjust the National Register of Electors, reorganize electoral district associations). We expect that the new federal electoral boundaries will take effect during a general election held after April 1, 2024, at the earliest.

Consult the redistribution timeline for more information.

Could my province get additional seats or lose seats in the House of Commons?

The number of seats given to a province is determined by the representation formula found in section 51 of the Constitution Act, 1867. The new seat allocation will only take effect seven months after the new representation order is proclaimed. Consult the redistribution timeline for more information.

How do we calculate the allocation of seats in the House of Commons?

Please consult the page on the representation formula to find out how seats are allocated in the House of Commons following each decennial (10-year) census. This representation formula is found in section 51 of the Constitution Act, 1867.

The CEO does not decide how many House of Commons seats will be allocated to each province. Although the CEO calculates the number of seats allocated to each province, this calculation is merely a mathematical operation over which the CEO exercises no discretionary authority.

Who determines the new federal electoral boundaries?

Ten independent electoral boundaries commissions—one in each province—determine the new federal electoral boundaries.

Each electoral boundaries commission is composed of three members. It is chaired by a judge appointed by the chief justice of the province and has two other members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Commons. Historically, many commission members have been university professors or civil servants who have worked for legislative assemblies.

As part of the redistribution process, boundaries commissions consult with the public and MPs. The commissions will consider this input but retain the right to make all final decisions about the new electoral boundaries

Can elected officials be members of federal electoral boundaries commissions?

The redistribution of federal electoral districts is independent and non-partisan. For this reason, no sitting member of the Senate or of a federal or provincial legislature can be appointed to these commissions.

Are Canada's territories involved in the federal redistribution process?

No. Canada's territories—Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut—each constitute only one federal electoral district. As a result, no boundary changes are required in the territories.

What criteria are used to determine the new federal electoral boundaries?

The main criterion for electoral boundaries is population equality. The Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act requires that the population of an electoral district in a given province be as close as is reasonably possible to the average population size of a district for that province (that is, the province's population divided by the number of House of Commons seats allocated to that province).

However, in addition to population equality, commissions must consider other social and geographic factors. They may choose to create electoral districts whose populations vary from the average, if they consider it necessary or desirable to do so in order to:

  • Respect communities of interest or identity (for example, communities based around language or shared culture and history),
  • Respect historical patterns of previous electoral boundaries, or
  • Maintain a manageable geographic size for districts in sparsely populated, rural or northern regions of the province

Commissions should make every effort to ensure that the population of a district is not more than 25 percent above or below the average district population. In extraordinary circumstances, however, commissions may create districts that vary from the average by more than 25 percent.

Are federal and provincial electoral boundaries the same?

In most cases, no. The only province that currently has a majority of matching federal and provincial electoral boundaries is Ontario. All other provinces have completely different federal and provincial electoral boundaries.

What is Elections Canada's role in the federal redistribution process?

During the federal redistribution process, Elections Canada provides a variety of professional, financial, technical and administrative support services to the commissions.

This includes liaising with Statistics Canada, Natural Resources Canada and the Speaker of the House of Commons on behalf of the commissions, as well as assisting with mapping and data.

Note that Elections Canada does not determine the representation formula for calculating a province's seats in the House of Commons, nor is it involved in the decisions made by the boundaries commissions regarding the electoral map.

How can I get involved in the federal redistribution process?

You will have the opportunity to participate in public hearings after boundaries commissions publish their initial proposals. Information will be available through the federal redistribution website in the spring of 2022. The website will include the commissions' proposals, once they become available, as well as the public hearing schedule.

Visit our website in the spring of 2022 to find your commission's web page and learn about public hearings in your province.

How are members of Parliament involved in the federal redistribution process?

MPs have two opportunities to give input into the federal redistribution process: during public hearings held by the commissions and through the House of Commons review process for the commission reports.

Boundaries commissions will consider all comments received, but they are not obliged to make changes based on them. Commissions make all final decisions with respect to the new electoral boundaries.

Redécoupage des circonscriptions fédérales de 2022

Foire aux questions

Généralités

Échéancier

Répartition des sièges

Processus

Participation

 

Qu'est-ce qu'une circonscription fédérale?

Une circonscription fédérale est une région géographique représentée par un député. Lors d'une élection, les électeurs votent pour un député afin qu'il représente les résidents de leur circonscription à la Chambre des communes. Chaque circonscription correspond ainsi à un siège à la Chambre des communes.

Veuillez consulter la liste des circonscriptions fédérales actuelles.

Qu'est-ce que le redécoupage des circonscriptions fédérales?

Le redécoupage des circonscriptions fédérales est un processus par lequel :

  1. Le nombre de circonscriptions (c'est-à-dire le nombre de sièges à la Chambre des communes) attribuées à chaque province est recalculé en fonction des nouvelles estimations de la population, au moyen de la formule de représentation prévue à l'article 51 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867.
  2. Dans chaque province, les limites des circonscriptions sont retracées afin de tenir compte du nouveau nombre de circonscriptions attribuées à la province, le cas échéant, et afin de refléter les changements et les mouvements de la population dans cette province.

Les règles régissant le processus de redécoupage sont établies dans la Loi sur la révision des limites des circonscriptions électorales.

Pourquoi les circonscriptions fédérales du Canada sont-elles modifiées?

C'est la loi. La Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 et la Loi sur la révision des limites des circonscriptions électorales exigent que le nombre de sièges à la Chambre des communes et les limites des circonscriptions fédérales soient révisés après chaque recensement décennal (10 ans). Ce processus fait en sorte que les changements et les mouvements de la population du Canada soient reflétés dans la représentation des provinces à la Chambre des communes.

De quelle façon les modifications apportées aux circonscriptions fédérales du Canada me toucheront-elles?

Votre circonscription subira probablement une modification. Par exemple :

Lors des deux derniers processus de redécoupage fédéral, environ 90 % des circonscriptions fédérales ont été modifiées.

Quand le redécoupage des circonscriptions fédérales commencera-t-il?

Le prochain processus de redécoupage fédéral devrait commencer en septembre 2021, lorsque Statistique Canada publiera ses estimations de la population du Canada et des provinces en date du 1er juillet 2021. À ce moment, le directeur général des élections procédera au calcul du nombre de sièges devant être attribué à chaque province à la Chambre des communes.

L'étape principale du processus de redécoupage devrait quant à elle débuter en février 2022, lorsque Statistique Canada publiera les chiffres de la population du Recensement de 2021.

Les chiffres de la population seront transmis aux commissions indépendantes chargées de réviser les limites des circonscriptions fédérales. Une fois ces chiffres obtenus, les commissions pourront commencer le travail et élaborer l'ébauche de la nouvelle carte électorale pour leur province.

Pour plus d'information, consultez l'échéancier du redécoupage.

Les nouvelles limites des circonscriptions fédérales seront-elles en vigueur lors de la prochaine élection générale?

Le processus de redécoupage devrait s'échelonner sur plusieurs mois. Toutefois, les nouvelles limites n'entreront en vigueur qu'à compter de la première élection générale déclenchée au moins sept mois après la proclamation des nouvelles circonscriptions. Ce délai permet à Élections Canada, aux partis politiques, aux candidats et aux députés de se préparer en vue de la prochaine élection générale (p. ex. embaucher les directeurs du scrutin ou reconduire leur mandat, réviser le Registre national des électeurs, réorganiser les associations de circonscription). Nous estimons que les nouvelles limites des circonscriptions fédérales pourraient s'appliquer à une élection générale déclenchée après le 1er avril 2024 au plus tôt.

Pour plus d'information, consultez l'échéancier du redécoupage.

Ma province pourrait-elle obtenir ou perdre des sièges à la Chambre des communes?

Le nombre de sièges attribués à une province est déterminé au moyen de la formule de représentation prévue à l'article 51 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867. La nouvelle attribution des sièges entre en vigueur seulement sept mois après la proclamation du nouveau décret de représentation électorale. Pour plus d'information, consultez l'échéancier du redécoupage.

Comment s'effectue le calcul pour la répartition des sièges?

Veuillez consulter la formule de représentation pour connaître la façon dont les sièges sont attribués aux provinces à la Chambre des communes après chaque recensement décennal (10 ans). Cette formule de représentation est décrite à l'article 51 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867.

Le DGE ne décide pas combien de sièges sont attribués à chaque province à la Chambre des communes. Bien qu'il procède au calcul du nombre de sièges attribués à chaque province, ce calcul n'est qu'une opération mathématique sur laquelle le DGE n'exerce aucun pouvoir discrétionnaire.

Qui établit les nouvelles limites des circonscriptions fédérales?

Dix commissions indépendantes de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales, soit une par province, sont chargées d'établir les nouvelles limites des circonscriptions fédérales.

Chaque commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales est composée de trois membres. Elle est présidée par un juge nommé par le juge en chef de la province. Deux autres commissaires, nommés par le président de la Chambre des communes, siègent également à la commission. Dans le passé, les commissaires ont souvent été des professeurs d'université et des fonctionnaires ayant travaillé auprès d'assemblées législatives.

Au cours du processus de redécoupage, les commissions de délimitation consultent la population et les députés. Elles tiennent compte de leurs commentaires, mais la décision définitive concernant les nouvelles limites des circonscriptions leur revient.

Les élus peuvent-ils être membres des commissions de délimitation des circonscriptions fédérales?

Le redécoupage des circonscriptions fédérales est un processus indépendant et non partisan. C'est pourquoi ni les sénateurs ni les élus en exercice au niveau fédéral ou provincial ne peuvent faire partie de ces commissions.

Les territoires du Canada sont-ils touchés par le processus de redécoupage fédéral?

Non. Les territoires du Canada, soit le Yukon, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut, ne comptent chacun qu'une seule circonscription. Aucune modification des limites n'est donc nécessaire dans les territoires.

Quels sont les critères utilisés pour établir les nouvelles limites des circonscriptions fédérales?

Le principal critère est la répartition égale de la population. La Loi sur la révision des limites des circonscriptions électorale exige que la population d'une circonscription dans une province corresponde, dans la mesure du possible, à la population moyenne d'une circonscription dans cette province (ce résultat s'obtient en divisant la taille de la population de cette province par le nombre de sièges attribués à cette province à la Chambre des communes).

Toutefois, en plus de la répartition égale de la population, les commissions doivent tenir compte d'autres facteurs sociaux et géographiques. Elles pourraient décider de créer des circonscriptions dont la taille de la population s'éloigne de la moyenne, si elles jugent cela nécessaire ou souhaitable pour :

  • respecter les communautés d'intérêts ou l'identité des communautés (par exemple des communautés partageant la même langue, la même culture ou la même histoire);
  • respecter l'évolution historique des limites des circonscriptions précédentes;
  • faire en sorte que la superficie des circonscriptions dans les régions peu peuplées, rurales ou septentrionales de la province ne soit pas trop vaste.

Les commissions doivent faire tout leur possible pour que l'écart entre la population d'une circonscription et la population moyenne des circonscriptions ne dépasse pas 25 %, sauf dans des circonstances extraordinaires.

Les limites des circonscriptions fédérales sont-elles les mêmes que celles des circonscriptions provinciales?

Dans la plupart des cas, non. La seule province dont la majorité des limites des circonscriptions sont les mêmes que celles des circonscriptions fédérales est l'Ontario. Dans toutes les autres provinces, les limites des circonscriptions sont différentes de celles des circonscriptions fédérales.

Quel est le rôle d'Élections Canada dans le processus de redécoupage fédéral?

Pendant le processus de redécoupage fédéral, Élections Canada fournit aux commissions une gamme de services de soutien professionnel, financier, technique et administratif.

L'organisme leur sert notamment d'intermédiaire avec Statistique Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada et le président de la Chambre des communes. Il leur apporte également une aide en ce qui concerne la cartographie et les données.

Notons qu'Élections Canada n'établit pas la formule de représentation servant à calculer le nombre de sièges attribués à une province à la Chambre des communes et ne participe pas aux décisions des commissions de délimitation concernant la carte électorale.

Comment puis-je participer au processus de redécoupage fédéral?

Vous pourrez participer aux audiences publiques qui auront lieu après que les commissions de délimitation auront publié leurs propositions initiales. De l'information à ce sujet sera affichée sur le site Web du redécoupage fédéral au printemps 2022. Ce site Web regroupera les propositions des commissions, lorsqu'elles seront disponibles, ainsi que le calendrier des audiences publiques.

Veuillez consulter notre site Web au printemps 2022 pour trouver la page Web de la commission de votre province et connaître les dates des audiences publiques.

De quelle façon les députés participent-ils au processus de redécoupage fédéral?

Les députés pourront contribuer au redécoupage des circonscriptions fédérales pendant les audiences publiques tenues par les commissions ainsi qu'au cours de l'étude des rapports des commissions par la Chambre des communes.

Les commissions de délimitation des circonscriptions examineront tous les commentaires reçus, mais elles ne sont pas tenues d'apporter quelque changement que ce soit. La décision définitive concernant les nouvelles limites des circonscriptions revient aux commissions.